Global Mobility Immigration Lawyer Scholarship

The topic for the Global Mobility Immigration Lawyers Scholarship 2018 was:

Immigration lawyers acting for asylum seekers are “unAustralian”. Respond.

We wish to thank all of the student entrants for the extraordinarily rich variety of entries, spanning video, painting, poetry, reflective pieces, traditional essays, and even a satirical brochure.

Please note the views and opinions expressed in these scholarship entries are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Global Mobility Immigration Lawyers


Amid fierce competition, QLD University of Technology Law student Phoebe Egoroff took home the $1000 prize for her superb documentary. For the other component of the scholarship, Phoebe nominated the very worthy Queensland Program of Assistance to Survivors of Torture and Trauma (QPASTT) for a $1000 donation.

Comments from the national judging panel included:

“Phoebe’s entry stood out as really well researched – she went out of her way to examine the legal and personal implications of the concept that lawyers helping asylum seekers are in-Australian. She was engaging, her video was dynamic and logically presented and she really got to the heart of the question. I was pleased that she reached out to Peter Dutton for comment as well as conducting interviews with those who supported her argument. It was a creative yet thorough analysis of the questions”


“very effective in getting across the message of what is and is not ‘Australian’”


“in interviewing Julian Burnside, and her friend Razik who is a refugee and law student, and her attempts to get an interview with Peter Dutton himself, all show impressive initiative…the final two minutes of the piece make some pertinent and powerful points”

All Entries

PDF Submission by Maulline Gragau

PDF Submission by Antony Yap

PDF Submission by Alyce Boemia

Image Submission by Tarren Sohier

Material: 20” x 20” Oil on wood

 The work focuses on genetic diversity by mapping the DNA profile of a future Australian immigration lawyer. The title “Australian Immigration Lawyer” responds to the topic, “Immigration lawyers acting for asylum seekers are ‘unAustralian’” by highlighting the genetic diversity of all Australians. Its simple representation eliminates the focus on nationality and refocuses on the roots of humanity, with the intent of challenging discriminatory behaviour.

Image Submission by Lia Cragnolini

Many Thanks

We thank the other student entrants for their excellent submissions.

We also thank the 2018 National Judging Panel comprising:

Dr Laurie Berg, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law, University of Technology Sydney

Associate Professor Peter Billings, TC Beirne School of Law, University of Queensland

Kathy Bogoyev, Principal Solicitor, The Humanitarian Group

Josh Butler, Senior Reporter, Network Ten

Professor Mary Crock, Professor of Public Law, Sydney Law School, University of Sydney

Ben Doherty, Immigration Correspondent, The Guardian

Professor Michelle Foster, Director, Peter McMullin Centre on Statelessness, Melbourne Law School, University of Melbourne

Dr Daniel Ghezelbash, Senior Lecturer, Macquarie Law School, Macquarie University

Dr Lisa Hartley, Senior Lecturer, Centre for Human Rights Education, Faculty of Humanities, Curtin University

Tanya Jackson-Vaughan, Executive Director, Refugee Advice & Casework Service (RACS)

Associate Professor Mary Anne Kenny, Associate Professor in Law, Murdoch 

Kon Karapanagiotidis OAM, CEO & Founder, Asylum Seeker Resource Centre (ASRC)

Michael Koziol, Immigration and Legal Affairs Reporter, Sydney Morning Herald and The Age

Professor Wendy Lacey, Dean and Head of the School of Law, University of South Australia

Greg Mackay, Director, Refugee and Immigration Legal Service (RAILS)

Emily Darling, Faculty of Law, Queensland University of Technology

David Manne, Executive Director and Principal Solicitor, Refugee Legal

Ali Mojtahedi, Principal Solicitor, Immigration Advice & Rights Centre (IARC)

Dr Maria O’Sullivan, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Law, Monash University

Emily Rutherford, Deputy Chairperson, Refugee Advocacy Services of South Australia (RASA)

Gary Samowitz, CEO, Stand Up

Associate Professor Savitri Taylor, Latrobe University and Refugee Legal

Associate Professor Matthew Zagor, Director of Law Reform And Social Justice, ANU College of Law, Australian National University